An Okay Day

Aside from everything that ails me daily, I had an okay day because I had a little more energy than I did yesterday. Some members of my family went to my favorite shave ice stand, I was able to help my Aunty & Uncle who recently moved back to the island sort through their belongings now that their things arrived via freight, & I completed three errands. Doesn’t sound like much but it’s the most I have been able to do in a long time. And I’m happy that my pain medication hasn’t made me sleepy. I’m tired of the insomnia and being exhausted on a daily basis for weeks now/ maybe months. Time flies by. Sometimes I don’t even know what day it is. And I was embarrassed at the pharmacy because I apparently forgot that I was there last week & already picked up the medication that I thought I was out of. There’s just so many of them I don’t even know them all by name. I want to just assign letters or numbers to them but I guess it doesn’t work that way. I get to wear a new pajama (with a skirt at the bottom) that my Aunty L got for me as well as some Harley Davidson swatches that were pretty cool. She always gives me the best gifts. The theme of the pj is a girlie Batman. She said she couldn’t find Wonder Woman but I still love it. I’ll be the first to admit that I will never “grow up” and I don’t care, I’ve accepted it. 🙂 I had also hoped to buy a larger flat screen tv but knew it would be a while, maybe even a year before I could do that. I was surprised & more than grateful when my Uncle & Aunty who just moved back from California gave me one that they weren’t going to use. I have that up & running. Today I bought a DVD player so I could at least watch movies in my room at night when I can’t sleep. I don’t have cable in my room but I rarely watch tv so that’s not a bad thing. And Mia is snuggling with me tonight. I think she likes that she doesn’t have to sleep in the livingroom into the wee hours in the morning while I tinker away at whatever I have chosen to preoccupy my time until I get bored & start something new. For pain

I’ve found that Salon Pas patches work okay on certain types of pain whether joints, muscles, neck, back, wherever. It at least alleviates the pain a little, to me it’s better than nothing but I’m sure you may know of something that works even better. Oh, and peppermint (the essential oil) helps more of the minor headaches. Not the, “I want to bash my head on the concrete wall” headaches. You may want to talk to your doctor first and also make sure you’re not allergic to it. If you do have any suggestions, please let me know. I really do not like toads. They creep me out A LOT! Usually when I walk outside in the dark I will use a flashlight but I haven’t seen many toads and I was only several feet from the house. I felt a thud on the tip of my slipper & got a little freaked out because of the possibility that I just kicked a toad in the butt with slippers on! So technically I could have touched it with my bare foot! I cringe at the thought. So I turned around and saw a toad just sitting there. I ran to the house, as I gross shuddered. Toads for one thing are brown & bumpy. Tree frogs however are more aesthetically pleasing with their vibrant  green and red coloring as well as their cute fingers. But I believe my main problem with toads stem from my childhood. One day after school I was walking around the garden & stepped in a hole. I looked down and was just about to remove my foot from the hole & go on my merry way when all of a sudden a toad jumped right on top of my foot! I panicked, I screamed, it got worse when I lifted my foot to shake it side to side to get it off of me. He must have had a phenomenal grip because he wouldn’t let go. My heart raced faster as I watched the toad hold on and thought he would never let go. When I finally managed to get the toad off of me, I ran, still shaking my foot. I felt traumatized. 🙂 I could still feel the sensation of the toad holding onto my foot and had a succession of involuntary “gross shudders.” Ewwww.

Down Syndrome Awareness Day

I wore mismatched socks for Down Syndrome Awareness Day. I was disappointed that I couldn’t be at work and was still at home sick but wanted to show my support.

Leave a Reply

