Go Fly a Kite

Go Fly a Kite

Ok I will! πŸ™‚ I haven’t flown a kite since I was a kid. I know I must’ve done it because I remember having a Donald Duck kite. It was incredibly fun! It was peaceful and calm. My new thing will be to “go fly a kite!” anytime I’m stressed out or sad. πŸ™‚

Image

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tlohuis
    Apr 17, 2014 @ 18:00:51

    That’s a really good idea. I haven’t flown a kite since I was a kid, either. Only problem where I am, is there are way too many trees and electrical wires. That would be so fun, though. You’ll have to share a post about it when you go fly that kite. Take care. have a good night.
    Peace and hugs,
    Wild Thang:)

    Reply

    • mkingr
      Apr 17, 2014 @ 18:08:59

      I want a big kite now. I was thinking about getting a skateboard, big kite, and let it pull me around. But then there’s all the electrical wires. I’m lucky enough to live right by a park and the beach so I can take my pick. I usually choose the park (even though it’s not as pretty, it’s more isolated). I woke up too late today as I couldn’t sleep again last night. Ever since the other night when there were some guys running into the yard past my bedroom and then I could see one of the guys right by my window, I got really creeped out. Hope you had a great day. As for me, I should work on those late taxes before my Accountant decides she doesn’t want my business anymore. πŸ™‚

      Reply

      • tlohuis
        Apr 17, 2014 @ 18:45:03

        You better be careful with that skateboard. LOL but, that does sound fun. Yes, you are quite lucky to live right near a park and a beach. The beach………….I’m just a little bit jealous about that. Be careful. and don’t let your guard down with these creeps creeping around outside your window. do you live by yourself? I would be terrified by something like that, especially if I lived alone. You can always call the police and tell them what happened and sometimes they’ll be kind enough to kind of patrol your area for awhile. Not sure where you are, but where I live, in the U.S., they will do that for us. Do you by chance have a dog that would bark if they came around? Be careful. There are just so many weirdo’s in this world anymore, it’s not even funny. And, yes, you might want to get those darn taxes done. Sure glad I don’t have to mess with that anymore, being disabled. don’t get me wrong, I would much rather be able to work and be around people and make a decent living rather than be sick all the time, have no life, and get very little money from disability. I am thankful for what I do receive, but it’s really just enough to pay for my insurance and a few small bills and then I’m done for the month. I hope you get to fly your kite soon. Hope you have a great day.
        Peace,
        Tammy:)

      • mkingr
        Apr 17, 2014 @ 19:05:22

        I do have a dog but she’s like 10 lbs (probably more now that she’s a pig and my step-father can’t stop giving her the treats he buys her, no matter how much I tell him to limit it to one a day since I give her treats as well). So she was about to bark but people can tell it’s a small dog. I was very concerned with my reaction to this situation. It’s going to sound really stupid but I kind of froze. I didn’t know what to do. I wasn’t sure if the guy was drunk or on drugs because I couldn’t understand the sounds he was trying to make. It sounded like there may have been two guys but I’m not sure. At first it sounded like they both ran past my window screaming and was heading toward the back yard (where it looks like one of them hit the gate and this plexiglass that was hanging on it broke off into several pieces that scattered into the backyard). They ended up coming back and that’s when I held Mia close and covered her mouth and rolled onto the floor with her and grabbed my phone. I was SCARED! I knew I could call the police but I didn’t want them to hear me. I knew they could probably easily get into any window if they really wanted to, my light had been on a little while before (I turned it off after I had heard them near the house for a while) and they could easily see me if they peered into the house. I wasn’t sure if I should crawl, would he see me since now I was at least blocked from his view by the bed if he looked this way? I hoped that my mom & step-father could hear them from their side of the house but I wasn’t sure. My step father did hear one guy and called the police who stopped by about 20 minutes later. I always thought that the creepiest thing would be for someone to walk up to my window and just try to get in or just look at me or something (it’s just so creepy and a feeling of being “violated” since it’s your own home, especially your bedroom). Now that something pretty close to that happened, I wonder what I should do in the future to ensure that I feel safe in case it should happen again. I just don’t really think of it because I want to forget that it ever happened but one day I’ll have that very serious “conversation” with myself and figure out what to do for future “invasions.”

      • tlohuis
        Apr 18, 2014 @ 09:48:30

        I would have been scared to death and probably wouldn’t sleep for quite some time. I’m glad to know that at least you live with your mom and step dad, not quite as bad as if you lived by yourself. Keep that window locked and covered so no one can see in. Get yourself a gun. LOL I don’t trust myself with one, but I am seriously considering getting myself a taser. I can buy a taser on-line. I have to have some kind of protection because I have a little dog, too. Not quite as little as yours, but she’s little. I have a Bichon and talk about a little pig, she’s like 5 pounds overweight and that’s a lot for a small dog. LOL that’s because I also have someone in this house that kept giving her all kinds of treats and table food after I told him not to. He better not be doing it now because she ended up with bladder stones and is now on a special diet and the vet said absolutely no treats or anything else ever. poor dog. not even one treat a day, but I don’t want her getting bladder stones ever again. We got lucky this time and they went away with some special prescription diet dog food. If they don’t go away, then they have to do surgery and I really don’t want her to have to go through that. I’m glad you are okay and I hope that never happens again. I hope you can just forget about it, but that probably won’t be easy to do. I would feel very violated, too. How about a home alarm system? From what I understand, they aren’t too expensive. I have a house full of people living here at the time, but when the kids were little and I was divorced, I spent many weekends here all by myself all weekend and I loved every minute of it and never worried about anything. We’ve lived here for 17 years and nothing’s ever happened in this neighborhood until about 6 months ago, can’t remember exactly, and a house just right up the street about 4 or 5 houses up was robbed in broad daylight. That worried me a bit because I am here a lot during the day by myself. That’s where the taser comes in. I really do want to get one. Be aware of your surroundings and stay safe. have a good weekend.:)

  2. mkingr
    Apr 17, 2014 @ 18:13:21

    Oh, and I would highly suggest flying a kite. I just bought one of those cheap ones I saw at a grocery store. It was smaller than I would’ve liked but it still flies and if I keep this up, I’ll just buy a better one some day. And if not, it didn’t cost a fortune. It was very peaceful and I got immersed in it where I wasn’t thinking about anything other than the kite flying. Soon I was doing better and the kite started to go where I wanted it to go. πŸ™‚ I did have a couple of crash landings though. πŸ™‚ Are there any open areas anywhere near you that you can think of?

    Reply

  3. mkingr
    Apr 19, 2014 @ 14:11:02

    Yea, I really have to think about what I can do. Unfortunately most of the options aren’t really options but I am planning to move as soon as I start working again. (Right next door). πŸ™‚ But if I close my windows, there is no circulation in the room and it’s HOT! That’s the only way I could lock the windows. I keep them opened a little but not a lot. As far as getting a gun, it sounded like it was more difficult to get one here but it’s something I certainly would re-look into. We also don’t have shooting ranges, would have to find out where I could go in the mountains or something??? I don’t know. Tasers? I would probably accidentally taze myself. πŸ™‚ But it is an option now, isn’t it? We have an alarm for the house but they don’t use all the features, like the important ones. So it’s basically useless, and not my house or place to tell them what they “should do.” This used to be a safe neighborhood when I was a child, except for the speeding cars on our residential road. It has changed a lot since then. It’s a mix of residential and commercial now, with even more traffic that speeds along our roads. I wish we could always keep the house as the land belongs to us too. My great grandparents and grandparents secured everything and for them, I would like to keep the land but again it’s not my decision if they decide to sell in the meantime. Another “scary” thing happened over 6 months ago. The house next door that I’m going to move into got burglarized (and we think it happened during the day). The house now belongs to my cousin but she doesn’t live in it. It was her parents house. So she wants me to live there to kind of watch over the house. My cousin ended up installing an alarm system because of it. We both felt very violated, I’m sure more so her since it was her parent’s house. How can someone just break in and go through your family’s stuff? The police department is now located behind our house (there’s a gate up but they’re basically the next street over). So sometimes they’ll come on our street, and it seems that lately with all the “new” bars that have popped up in the near vicinity, there is more “action” on the street around our house at night as people are either walking to their cars drunk and belligerent. Or they are fighting, crying, angry with so and so and talking loudly about it. I always wonder if they would appreciate me “camping out” within less than 100 feet, maybe 50 feet or less from their bedroom window, talking loudly and keeping them up all night. Last night I did better. I guess I figured I can’t worry about this forever and it may never happen again, however I do know that I need to know what I’m going to do the next time something happens. Thank you for all the suggestions. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

