The Very Inspiring Blogger Award

very-inspringaward

I was very surprised and humbled when I received this award from breakdownchick at Labeled Disabled. It encouraged me to keep writing because I didn’t think that I was inspiring nor encouraging. I felt like I was just complaining about everything and being negative so I stopped writing for a while. I was especially honored because I think that Labeled Disabled is an amazing blog written by a brave and inspiring soul. I enjoy reading her posts and wish that I could share even half as much as she does. I still  hold back many of my thoughts and feelings because unlike her, I am afraid and still haven’t confronted many of my experiences that I have chosen to suppress for now, knowing that at some point I will have to face my past memories which still affect my current life. If you haven’t visited this blog yet, I highly recommend checking it out.

Here are the rules for accepting this award:

  • Thank and link the amazing person who nominated you.
  • List the rules and display the award.
  • Share seven facts about yourself.
  • Nominate 15 other amazing blogs and comment on their posts to let them know they have been nominated.
  • Optional: Proudly display the award logo on your blog and follow the blogger who nominated you.

Seven Irrelevant Facts About Me:

1) I am half Japanese and the other half consists of Scottish, Irish, German, and British. My Great Grandmother on my Mother’s side was a picture bride. So in Hawai’i, my generation is considered Yonsei (which is the 4th generation).

2) I travelled a lot since I was 6 years old. Mostly because my parents divorced when I was about 4. The first long trip my sister and I took was to South Carolina to visit my dad during our summer breaks. We’ve also visited many states in the US and Australia and New Zealand.

3) I have lived in four different states: Hawai’i (on the islands of Kaua’i and O’ahu), South Carolina, Las Vegas, and Colorado. I finally returned home on my mom’s birthday in 2012 and am so happy to be back where the majority of my family lives.

4) I dropped out of college at UH Manoa in my last semester of my Senior year- one of my biggest mistakes. I did go back to school and graduated from UNLV in Las Vegas but I had to take way more than 4 classes since they didn’t carry over all of my credits and had other requirements. It was worth it even though I do not use my English degree.

5) The most I have ever been hospitalized in a four month period was three times (December 2013- March 2014). I do not like green eggs and ham, I do not like them Sam I Am.

6) I really like office supplies. I don’t know why but I get really excited when I buy them.

7) I have issues with people being in my personal space and get agitated. One random example happened just now. My step-father just came to my side of the house and was looking by my sink/counter and started to walk away. I asked him if I could help him find something. He said no, he was looking to see if my mom brought a small white dish over and laughed. Arrgh. (So yeah, since I moved home I’m living with my mom and step-father. I was going to move out late last year and then had a major Lupus flare and couldn’t work for a while. Now with the extra medical bills (hospital, holter monitor, doctor visits, etc.) and using my credit card when I was on a leave of absence, I will have to wait for a while. Then I will have my privacy and won’t have to worry about my step-father sticking his head in my bedroom door to see if I left and Mia (my dog) is at home by herself, him not listening to me and over feeding Mia snacks all day, my mom coming into my room and peeking in the bathroom to ask what I’m doing when it is obvious since I am sitting on the toilet, and all that good stuff. 🙂

Fifteen Inspiring Bloggers:

I don’t follow many blogs so I won’t be able to come up with that many. However the ones that I list are definitely awesome!

1) Labeled Disabled (I know she nominated me, but she is truly inspirational- so hurry up and visit her blog! She writes about her life experiences, “mental disorders,” poetry, etc.) 🙂

2) Nitya Nata (Another amazing blogger who writes about Lupus, other health conditions, and her trip to Europe- loved it! And more!).

3) Flux and Flow  (Jasmine is truly inspirational and has a variety of topics from Lupus, Café Monday (random excerpts from her journal), travels, current events, etc.).

4) Lupus Really Sucks! (I find this blog about Lupus inspiring because she writes about the disease, how it affects her, and portrays Lupus for what it is. Lupus does suck! A lot!)

I know I’m missing some but I just can’t think right now. This has already taken me at least an hour if not longer, with breaks in between.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. breakdownchick
    Jul 08, 2014 @ 05:50:01

    Your words about me and my blog brought me to tears! It gives me strength to know that I inspire you to keep expressing yourself. Much love and appreciation!!! 🙂 ❤

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Very Inspiring Blogger Award | Nitya Nata

Leave a comment